I know, it is a little late to publish week two, but then working in a startup is not much different.

You always seem to be running and yet you almost always miss the deadlines.

Once obvious reason is that people who work in a startup are often a little delusional. We expect great things from ourselves and set timelines that are challenging at best and impractical at worst.

I completed 3 weeks in a startup and my grey matter is already asking for a break. I know it might seem unreasonable but then everything here is so new to me, it’ll probably take some more time to adjust to the pace.

And the funny thing is we aren’t even moving that fast, actually we are not moving at all. We aren’t live yet.

But as they say, you have more fun planning the party than in the party.

To be honest, at this point I’d like to quote a line from one of my favorite movies, “I don’t see how that is a Party.”

FYI, the movie is Avengers.

Why?

At the moment, I am a little struck at a point, and I realise that it’ll take some effort to get past it.

So, what did I learn this week?

Give time.

Episode179-banner.jpg

Ironical. I know I do have a knack for things like this. A late post with a moral lesson for having patience.

Rome wasn’t built in a day. I must have heard it a thousand times before I understood the proper meaning of it. (Most of the quotes we read are actually capable of doing the same, it’s part of their charm.)

It’s true. Life is a race, and we feel this urge to be always in the front. I know I feel it.

Somehow, I constantly feel that I am moving too slow and there are way too many great things still left to achieve.

But great things take time.

Working in a startup looks appealing from outside, this was the last line our start-up’s founder said to me, during my interview.

I still love working in a start-up but it takes time to get used to the pace. The pace is not what one usually believes, it is not a 100m race you can bolt straight through.

Startups are not race tracks, but they are narrow trails in the woods and sometimes you need to discover a new one. (More on that later)

I am still trying to adjust. I make new mistakes everyday; fortunately Mr. founder is a very understanding man.

It also takes time to learn new skills and build a great product. Our product is taking longer than what we earlier anticipated, we are already delayed by over a month and yet are working to improve it every day.

Details take time. Making sure your customer is happy takes time. Reducing the cycle time takes time!

We want to deliver the best, and there is no time-saving trick you can use to do that. There is no ‘a list of 101 ways to make great things happen quicker’.

Patience is sometimes a quality, successful entrepreneurs and founders forget to list down in there often impressive virtues. It is not as appealing as perseverance or creativity but in hindsight, they point towards the same direction.

ME_113_Patience.png

Take time. Life is race but you need only to race with yourself.

I don’t know how many more ways I could say it.

So, see you at week three. Hopefully this time, On time.

Leave a Reply

