“Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both”

Because life seldom gives you a second chance to do something you should have done right the first time.

This poem was taught to me in school and at that time, this poem made little sense to me. I naively wondered, what’s the big deal in choosing a path. I imagined whenever the time came, and I would find myself standing at the crossroads, I will be able to make the right choice. The Good Choice. Perhaps.

Years passed and I read this very poem again few day ago and I couldn’t help but be in awe of the genius of Robert Frost.
I’m not going to write a blog on how inspiring and wisdom-y the poem is. You can easily find works of writers better than me, analyzing each line of this poem and I’m not going to start writing and explaining what something means, when I know I’m only going to disappoint.

No, but I’m going to tell you my adaptation of this poem.
The reason I re-read this poem was because I find myself standing alone in the yellow woods and two roads are diverging ahead of me.

And the reason, why I’m in awe of the genius of Robert Frost is because I believe everybody can or probably will at some point in time find themselves in a situation similar to that of mine.

“Two roads diverged in a wood, ”
One to an elite institute with great promise,
A path well worn,
with the assurance of a better, bright and a prosperous future.
A path that the grown-ups should supposedly choose,
and yet it feels like,
all I’m doing is satisfying my primal needs and wants.

The second road has witnessed far less wear,
a road bending into the undergrowth,
promising an unpromised future.
Nobody could guess to where this road will lead to.
A fellowship program with certainly much less promise,
but with a little more contentment.

“And both that morning equally lay

In leaves, no step had trodden black.”

Both roads would take me on a two-year journey.

One road has great promise at the end, the other would probably leave me on a similar divergence, with the alternatives being no clearer than what they are now.

The first will bind me in chains and the latter will leave me with the burden of choosing again.

“I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—”
Once when I was browsing the web, I read an article about a writer trying to judge what his future self would feel about him. He felt his future self, probably more successful and wise by now, would be critical of him ( The writer in present tense)  for wasting his time making stupid mistakes, which the writer didn’t yet realize he was making.
He wrote that he is trying his best not to disappoint his future self but then he argued that he wasn’t as wise yet and needed to clock a bit more years to see things the way his future self probably saw.
We also judge our past selves, for instance when we look at our old photographs and wonder how stupid we used to be back then.
Well, in this situation, I feel the past tense of myself, younger and weirder looking, school going version of myself, who had read “The Road not taken” for the first time in his English classes and thought that making the right choice was going to be easy, would be kind of disappointed with me.
I am unable to choose. But the worst part is I am not even sure which path is the right one. Or more importantly the Good one. Are they even the same paths?
“I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—”

By the next time I write a blog, I am positive that I’ll have chosen one of the two paths. Hopefully, my future self wouldn’t be critical of my choice and my past self wouldn’t be disappointed with me.

Thanks for reading:)

 

Leave a Reply

