I normally like to start of my blogs by narrating a story. Usually this story revolves around my life, something that I saw, thought, did or just simply felt.

The problem this time is I am not able to find a story for this title. It’s not because I’m trying to find the perfect story; it’s is because I don’t have any.

I would love to boast that I’m an optimist. One that never backs down no matter what the odds are. One who believes that eventually everything will become all right. Someone who always holds on to hope.

But I’d be lying if told you a story like this.

I’ve lost hope and quit so many times. I’ve quit on people, on my friends, even on the trivial things like my ritual of writing a blog every week. I’m not incorrigible in any sense of the word.

I did quit. I’m not telling this to turn this in some sort of happy ending story. There is no climax to this one.

Then why the title?

The Incorrigible Optimist

Because to me, this sounds too good to be true. I don’t believe someone can actually manage that. Rocky Balboa did say, 

I don´t care how tough you are, it (life) will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently, if you let it. You, me or nobody, is gonna hit as hard as life.”

This is true. Many of us have found it to be true for ourselves the hard way.

That’s why I believe incorrigible optimist don’t exist. You can’t be happy and hopeful all the time. I will find it difficult to digest if someone tells me they can.

Then why am I writing about being an optimist?

Because I sure-as-hell would like to be there someday. The other half of the dialogue that I quoted above, which by the way is the reason Rocky Balboa is my favourite movie, is

 “But ain’t about how hard you hit… It’s about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward… how much you can take, and keep moving forward. That´s how winning is done.”

I don’t think optimist exist. I without a shadow of doubt can say that, even if they do at least I am not one.

But then wouldn’t it be good to be one?

Well everyone is entitled to try, so that’s what I’ll try to do from this day forward. I’ll try to be an optimist, incorrigible or not.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

