Reading a book is, in my opinion, is one of the simpler pleasures of life. The experience is unparalleled. How few words of a well-written novel written on a piece of paper, can turn into a portal to an extraordinary world is something I could never decipher.  You may be able to imagine, by my aforementioned description of the joy of reading that, I do like to read books.

books

To tend to this habit, I usually find myself wandering in libraries looking for new books to explore. While on a similar hunt, I came across a book whose title intrigued me. No one ever said anything about judging a book by its title. The book was sitting on the top shelf but before I could reach for it, my little brother came in howling at me. “We are late, everybody is waiting for you!” I had lost track of time like on so many previous occasions while browsing through the shelves of the library.

I made a mental note to search for that book once I get back home. The title of the book was ‘Leaving Microsoft to change the world.’ A bibliophile like me can’t pass on the opportunity to read a book with a title like that.  Predictably once home, I searched for the book online. The author of the book was a guy named John Woods. He is the Founder of Room to Read, a global non-profit organization that promotes education, gender equality, and literacy worldwide.

room-to-read-logo-1

John a self-confessed bibliophile himself stated the importance of having books while he was still just a kid. He said in his book that, he often found himself investing lots of his parent’s money on buying books and that his parents, troubled by the voracious reading habits of their son, enrolled him into the local library where little John found his treasure. He would spend long hours reading books from the endless collections of their local library. He wanted the kids of Nepal and other developing nations in Asia, who didn’t have any access to books, to share his love for reading. This is the idea on which Room to Read was formed.

The amount of work Room to read have accomplished is truly commendable. Room to Read believes that all children, regardless of gender or background, have a right to education. By empowering children through this lifelong gift, we see the world in which people are able to realize their full potential. With chapters in Bangladesh, Cambodia, India, Laos, Nepal, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Vietnam and Zambia –and with plans to expand further, they have benefited more than 7 million children worldwide; and have built more than 15,000 libraries.

People like John Woods believe that reading books are an essential part of a child’s growing up process. And bibliophiles like me can verify this fact.

I wish best of luck to John Woods and Room to Read for their future endeavours. The book certainly has been a source of inspiration for me. Now, I urge everyone I meet to read this book and to support their organisation in my small way. I hope you too will read the book and can assure you that you’ll love reading the book.

Thanks For Reading:)

Leave a Reply

