Portugal won the euros yeah!

nintchdbpict000251161496-e1468188354489.jpg

I, being a big Ronaldo fan, was predictably happy.

Sadly though,  he had to retire early in the game due to the injury he sustained from the tackle by Payet.

The fact that he came back on a couple of times before actually calling for a substitution, demonstrates his love for his country and his resilience to be better than even himself. It’s this quality of Ronaldo that makes me his fan.

Nevertheless, the Portugal Football team deserved the win, not just Cristiano Ronaldo.

Fans focus on him so much, they forget it’s a team game.

Nobody, no matter how good he is, can win a tournament on this level by himself.

And Ronaldo didn’t even contribute as player much. Yes, he sort of became the assistant manager in the later stages of the game, and I absolutely loved watching him don the new unofficial role, but the fact remains, the rest of the 11 players, playing in red,  won the match for Portugal.

Pepe did a great job in defense, so did William Carvalho in mid-field. Rui Patrício, the  keeper was magnificent as well.

So before I continue, I would like to congratulate whole of the Portugal National Football Team for their deserving victory.

I wondered, why, even after being substituted so early due to injury, did the fans and everyone else praise Ronaldo more than anybody else in the team?

If you have read my blogs, you would know I’m a huge Suits fan.

One particular dialogue from Harvey fits perfectly in a situation like this.

He said,

“When I got here, I dominated. They thought I worked 100 hours a day. Now, no matter what time I get in, nobody questions my ability to get the job done. Get it through your head. First impressions last. You start behind the eight ball, you’ll never get in front.”

And if you think about it, this is actually true. In my previous blog I wrote, people form their opinions quickly from their perception of what the truth is.

That is my impressions matter.

In this case, Ronaldo has won his country and club numerous matches on previous occasions, and even in the recently concluded tournament.

So, people have an impression of Ronaldo in their minds that he wins matches for his team.

Every touch of the ball by him, excites us (I say us, because as mentioned earlier I’m a huge Ronaldo fan too), because we expect magic to happen soon. That’s the power of impressions.

article-urn publicid ap.org fe61a6d36d7d4aa4aba5eaf86fd66427-1wIWFIVVAKbb58de463740c16afa-142_634x861.jpg

Even though, he didn’t have a, as big an expected impact on the tournament, he is still Cristiano Ronaldo and undoubtedly, we will believe that somehow he had some role in the victory even if he didn’t actually play.

As I said Impressions matter.

Lastly, I would also like to congratulate the France National team for a great display of football throughout the tournament.

Tough luck. But Portugal had to win, it was written in the stars!


Connect deeper.
If you resonated with my article and want to read the ones I post in future, hit the follow button or else enter your email address below, so that you get notification for my future posts.
Thanks for reading:)

Leave a Reply

