I was watching a tv show the other day,  when my brother came to me. I told him about the show and he said “How can watching lawyers working in an office be interesting?” “Find out for yourself! ” I told him.

A week later I walked in on him with a wide grin on my face as he was the one watching the show this time.
The law-bug had bitten him too.

The television series in context here is “Suits”. A court room drama as they describe it, is a story revolving around Mike Ross, who is an associate of the great Harvey Specter.

One reason why I like this show as much, is because there is a lot to learn from the two central characters of the show.
In one such scene, Mike is explaining a situation pertaining to a case to Harvey, he was trying to figure out his next move in a tricky situation, when something struck him. He asks himself “What would Harvey do?” i.e how would the successful lawyer Harvey Specter react if he faced a similar situation, and he had his answer.

image

Now, like Mike, I started using this technique of his too. Whenever I found myself lacking in ideas or motivation, I simply ask myself, “What would Elon Musk do?”

For those of you who don’t know Elon Musk ( about whom all of you should), he is an engineer, inventor , entrepreneur, founder of Tesla Motors ,SpaceX, PayPal, Hyperloop, OpenAI.
That list is long, and thus, Elon is a source of inspiration for many aspiring entrepreneurs, engineers and visionaries alike, and needless to say even mine. But you could replace his name with your mentor/inspiration etc, and then ask yourself the same question.

For example before a big test, if I feel lazy or start finding excuses for not studying, I simply ask myself the same question and then undisputedly get back to work (because Elon wouldn’t certainly sleep instead of studying before his big test, right? ).


Connect deeper.
If you resonated with my article and want to read the ones I post in future, hit the follow button or else enter your email address below, so that you get notifications.
Thanks for reading:)

One thought on “What would Elon Musk do?

Leave a Reply

